Schubert: At the Piano Closer Look

Schubert: At the Piano

12 Well-Known Original Pieces in Progressive Order

This item is currently on back order and expected in stock soon. You may place an order which will be filled as soon as the item arrives in stock.

Series: Henle Music Folios
Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition
Format: Softcover
Composer: Franz Schubert
Editor: Sylvia Hewig-Tröscher

The Perfect Music Series for Piano Students and for Those Returning to the Piano.

Each volume in the “At the Piano” series includes original pieces by one composer. The works are arranged in progressive order of difficulty and complement one another conceptually. Each piece ranges from one to eight pages. All volumes contain fingering and practical tips on technique and interpretation. The “At the Piano” series is an ideal introduction to the world of classical piano music and is particularly suitable for piano students and for all those who are returning to the piano after a long break. The series is edited by Sylvia Hewig-Tröscher, a piano professor at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich. She has decades of experience teaching young people and adults, gives concerts and masterclasses around the world, and is a much sought-after educator.

Of the twelve composers in our “At the Piano” series, Franz Schubert was undoubtedly the least at home at the piano – but nevertheless what masterpieces he left us for this instrument! There is hardly any pianist who is not immediately captivated by the cheerful yet melancholy atmosphere of Schubert's impromptus and Moments musicaux. Even the simple pieces by Schubert at the beginning of this volume have surprising twists in store that afford them a profundity of their own. Nor are his dances mere entertainment. No matter how charming they may seem on the surface, there is always a wistful tone in his waltzes and ländler. This seems to reflect the gravely ill composer's presentiment of his own death.

Contents: Scherzo in B-flat Major, D. 593, No. 1 • Ländler in B-flat Major, D. 378, No. 6 • Ländler in B-flat Major, D. 378, No. 7 • Ländler in B-flat Major, D. 378, No. 8 • Eight Ecossaises, D. 977 • Waltz in A-flat Major from First Waltzes, D. 365, No. 1 • Waltz in A-flat Major from First Waltzes, D. 365, No. 2 • Minuet in D Major, D. 41, No. 16 • German Dance in D Major, D. 790, No. 1 • Impromptu in A-flat Major, D. 935, No. 2 • Moment musicaux in F minor, D. 780, No. 3 • Moment musicaux in A-flat Major, D. 780, No. 6 • Hungarian Melody in B minor, D. 817 • Variations 1-7 and 13 from 13 Variations on a theme by Anselm Hüttenbrenner, D. 576 • Piano Sonata in A Major, D. 664

$19.95 (US)
Inventory #HL 51481821
UPC: 888680699529
Publisher Code: HN1821
Width: 9.25"
Length: 12.25"
64 pages

Related Item Cover Image

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

No